top of page
Writer's pictureJoseph Mwema

HOW I MET YOUR MOTHER PART 3

Updated: May 31

Disappointment threatened to drown me, but I choked it back. “You haven’t even picked it up,” I reminded her pointing at her phone which was still ringing.



“Oh, Hi roomie.” She said with a trailed voice. The conversation was brief, punctuated by frustrated sighs.  Finally, she ended the call, a single strand of hair escaping her braid and curling against her cheek as she let out a defeated sigh.

"My roommate's boyfriend just showed up unexpectedly," she admitted, her voice barely audible. "Not exactly ideal for me to crash there tonight."


Bliss flickered across my face, a flicker she instantly understood. I hadn't offered my place again, respecting her initial hesitation. "Do you have somewhere else you could crash?" I asked, my voice laced with concern.


Just then, my phone chimed, the ringtone a familiar tune.  I glanced at the screen, then back at Carol, a hint of apology in my eyes.  As I answered, she stole a moment to study me.  The way I softened as I spoke, the easy banter flowing from my lips – it was a side of me she hadn't seen before.


Just then, my phone rang, the ringtone a familiar tune. I glanced at the screen, then back at Carol, a hint of apology in my eyes. As I answered, Carol stole a moment to study me. The way my features humbled as I spoke, the casual banter that played on my lips – it was a side of me she hadn't seen before.


"Wazi Jitu," I said on the phone, my voice dropping to a low murmur. Carol's ears perked up at the name. Jitu? Could it be...?


Before then, I had texted Jitu; “Kanaeza ivana mzee itabidi uniachie keja”. It was short and subtle, but he understood.


A moment later, I ended the call, a surprised look on her face. "Governor Jitu?" Carol blurted out before she could stop herself. "Is that…?"


I chuckled, a warm sound that sent a shiver down her spine. "Yeah," I confirmed. "I left him my spare keys. He was asking if he could just leave them by the window for me when he leaves tonight."

The realization hit Carol – he knew me, and trusted me enough to have a spare key to my place? She wondered.

Suddenly, the idea of going to my place which initially seemed unbearable became an option. Taking a deep breath, she blurted out, "If you're friends with Jitu, then maybe…" She trailed off, unsure how to finish the sentence.


A slow smile spread across my face, understanding glinting in my eyes. "So, you wouldn't mind crashing at my place?"

Carol hesitated for a beat, then a small smile tugged at the corner of her lips. "No," she admitted, a hint of relief washing over her. "I wouldn't mind at all."


The ride to my place was a blur of nervous excitement for her, then we finally arrived. As we walked towards the gate, every stolen glance my way revealed a new detail – the way my brow furrowed in concentration as I crossed the busy street, the easy confidence in my stride, the way my hand brushed against hers accidentally, then protectively held her as we crossed, sending a jolt of electricity through her.


Finally, we reached the apartment building. Taking the stairs two at a time, I reached the door and fumbled with the keys. The door swung open, revealing a sight that took Carol's breath away.

Gone were the expectations of a typical student room – cramped, cluttered, with posters plastered on the walls. Instead, my apartment was an oasis of calm and style.


A flat-screen TV hung on the wall, opposite a sleek black woofer that promised powerful sound. The walls were adorned with rich cream curtains that diffused the warm evening light filtering through the window. Spotlights cast a soft glow on the clean, polished floor, and the air held the refreshing scent of a recently used air conditioner. Even the bathroom door, visible at the end of a short hallway, gleamed with polished chrome.


Her surprise melted into a warm sense of comfort. This wasn't just a place someone lived, it felt like a home – a reflection of the person who lived there. Without a word, she wandered further into the room like a little girl whose parents just moved in.

I watched her, a silent smile playing on my lips. The way her eyes widened at the unexpected luxury, the way she traced a finger along the smooth surface of the table – it was a peek into her world.


Finally, she stopped in front of the bathroom door, a hesitant look flickering across her face. I took a step closer, the air crackling with unspoken tension. "Go ahead," I said softly, my voice a low rumble that sent shivers down her spine. "Make yourself at home."

Carol nodded, a silent thank you hanging in the air. The bathroom was just as pristine as the rest of the apartment, and she took a moment to freshen up, splashing cool water on her face and smoothing her hair.


When she emerged, the tension in the room had intensified. I sat on the couch pretending to check my phone, but she could feel my gaze burning into her. Slowly, she walked towards me, her heart pounding a frantic rhythm against her ribs.


As she reached my side, I stretched my arm welcoming her to my side, my eyes locking with hers. In that moment, all the playful banter, the stolen glances, the nervous energy of the date – it all culminated in this single look.


Without a word, I reached out, my hand brushing against hers. The warmth of my skin sent a jolt through her, a spark igniting in the space between our fingertips. Her breath hitched as I gently pulled her closer, the space between our bodies shrinking with each deliberate step.


Our fingers interlaced, sending a delicious tremor through her. It was a simple gesture, yet it felt like a promise. I pulled her gently to my laps. She leaned in, my gaze dropping to her lips, desire shimmering in my eyes. she could feel the heat rising to her cheeks, a mixture of nervousness and anticipation bubbling within her. She knew this was a dangerous line to cross, considering the whirlwind of events leading them here, but the pull towards you was undeniable, and the line was already too blurry.


Just as my lips were about to meet hers, a sharp rap on the door shattered the electric atmosphere. Carol jumped, startled out of her reverie, a gasp escaping her lips. “Shiet, huyo ni nani sasa?” I cursed under my breath, the frustration evident in my furrowed brow.


"Chill!" I called out, my voice laced with disappointment. The sudden interruption left us both reeling, the unspoken desire hanging heavy in the air.


"Who could that be at this hour?" she whispered, a hint of unease creeping into her voice.

"Not sure, let me check out," I replied, my voice strained.


I walked towards the door, casting a hesitant glance back at Carol. She stood frozen in the center of the room, the playful fire in her eyes replaced by a flicker of vulnerability

The knock came again, more insistent this time. I sighed, the frustration evident in the slump of my shoulders. "Relax," I mumbled to Carol, my voice barely audible.


As I reached for the doorknob, a thought struck me. I turned back to Carol, a mischievous glint in your eyes. "You can chill on the couch," I whispered, a hint of a smile playing on my lips. "Don't worry" Before she could question my cryptic instruction, I creaked open the door.


Jitu stood on the other side, a quizzical look on his face. He was dressed casually, a backpack slung over his shoulder. "We mzee," he greeted, his voice booming even in the confined space of the doorway. "Manzi yangu anakuja, itabidi mchuje sasa”.


He didn’t even have a girlfriend, I knew well deep down. This was his place, and I knew well that I was cooked. “wewe ni fraud walai, nyoks!” I replied. I was this close... this was not the way it was supposed to end.


Part 4 link

127 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 comentário


Jaoe
Jaoe
21 de mai.

😻

Curtir
bottom of page